Brown, Kabongo Honored by Big 12

LonghornDigest Publisher
Posted Mar 5, 2012

J'Covan Brown was named first-team All-Big 12 by the league's coaches on Sunday, making him the seventh Texas player in as many years to be so honored. And Myck Kabongo was tapped as one of the league's top first-year players, earning a spot on the five-person All-Rookie Team.

Kabongo was also named All-Big 12 Honorable Mention.

The league office announced the 2011-12 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Awards teams, with Brown, the league's leading scorer, taking up a spot next to unanimous selections Thomas Robinson and Tyshawn Taylor of Kansas, and Royce White of Iowa State. Marcus Denmon was the other, non-unanimous pick to the first team.

Brown joins Lamarcus Aldridge (2006), P.J. Tucker (2006), Kevin Durant (2007), D.J. Augustin (2008), Damion James (2010) and Jordan Hamilton (2011) as recent selections to the team. Brown currently leads the Big 12 in scoring with 20.0 points per game, while leading the Longhorns in steals (40) and minute (35.3). He's second on the team in assists, with 3.8 per contest. Brown hit the 30-point mark four times this year, and went over 20 points 17 times. Only twice was he held out of double digits.

Kabongo was one of 10 selections to the honorable mention team. Kabongo paces the Longhorns in assists (5.3 per game), is second in steals (38) and third in scoring (9.8 points per game). Kabongo had at least five assists in 18 of the Longhorns' 31 games, while also scoring in double figures 18 times.

The All-Big 12 awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Stay on on Monday for our own All-Big 12 Awards.

2011-12 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Awards

Player of the Year: Thomas Robinson (Kansas)

Defensive Player of the Year: Jeff Withey (Kansas)

Newcomer of the Year: Royce White (Iowa State)

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Quincy Miller (Baylor), Le’Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State)

Sixth Man Award: Michael Dixon (Missouri)

Co-Coaches of the Year: Fred Hoiberg (Iowa State), Bill Self (Kansas)

All-Big 12 First Team

Royce White (Iowa State), Thomas Robinson (Kansas), Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas), Marcus Denmon (Missouri), J'Covan Brown (Texas>

All-Big 12 Second Team

Quincy Acy (Baylor), Pierre Jackson (Baylor), Rodney McGruder (Kansas State), Ricardo Ratliffe (Missouri), Keiton Page (Oklahoma State)

All-Big 12 Third Team

Perry Jones III (Baylor), Scott Christopherson (Iowa State), Jeff Withey (Kansas), Kim English (Missouri), Phil Pressey (Missouri)

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Quincy Miller (Baylor), Chris Allen (Iowa State), Melvin Ejim (Iowa State), Jamar Samuels (Kansas State), Steven Pledger (Oklahoma), Romero Osby (Oklahoma), Le’Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State), Myck Kabongo (Texas), Elston Turner (Texas A&M), David Loubeau (Texas A&M)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Quincy Acy (Baylor), Jeff Withey (Kansas), Jordan Henriquez (Kansas State), Rodney McGruder (Kansas State), Michael Dixon (Missouri)

Big 12 All-Rookie Team

Pierre Jackson (Baylor), Quincy Miller (Baylor), Royce White (Iowa State), Le’Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State), Myck Kabongo (Texas)

Related Stories
Behind Enemy Lines: Longhorns
 -by  Feb 14, 2012
A Texas-Sized Beating
 -by  Feb 4, 2012
Brown Becoming a High-Volume Scorer
 -by  Nov 19, 2011

Get the 2012 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
G J'Covan Brown (profile)
G Myck Kabongo (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Basketball > Findlay Prep > Alumni
Basketball > Memorial HS > Alumni
Basketball > Texas
[View My HotList]